Recently you were asked to submit a survey about Clinton-Massie Middle School. Please review the results of the survey, and the plan of action.
Effective September 2, 2000, the Ohio laws governing school attendance changed. This change in law created definitions of habitual and chronic truants in an effort to eliminate the problems that cause truancy.
Habitual Truant . 5 or more consecutive school days, 7 or more school days in one school month, 12 or more school days in a school year.
Chronic Truant. 7 or more consecutive school days, 10 or more school days in one school month, 25 or more school days in a school year.
School Month (consists of 4 school weeks)
School Week (consists of 5 days)
Parental Responsibility. It is the parent’s responsibility to ensure their child’s regular attendance at school. Failure to send your child to school is a violation of Ohio School Law. Criminal charges can be filed against a parent/guardian/custodian of a child who is a habitual or chronic truant. These charges can be one of the following: Contributing, Criminal Prohibition (fail to send), Parental Educational Neglect, Child Endangering.
Child’s Responsibility. The child’s responsibility is to attend school daily unless they have a valid excuse. Attending school is the child’s job for the first 18 years of their life. Failure to attend may result in unruly or delinquency charges in the juvenile court.
*Students and parents are encouraged to submit a doctor/dentist note. After 10 absences without documentation from a doctor/dentist, one will be required for every absence after number 10 or the absence will be considered unexcused.
School Responsibility. It is the responsibility of the school to organize and coordinate communication among all persons involved. We will work as a team with family to follow through with attendance compliance. Along with the courts, we will provide the family with referrals to appropriate community resources. The truancy Intervention Program has 4 components.
I. Warning letter sent after second unexcused absence.
II. Truancy Intervention Meeting after 5 unexcused absences.
III. Unofficial hearing after 7 unexcused absences. Meeting with Court Diversion
Officer/Mediation Officer, School Officials, Parent(s), and child.
IV. Official Hearing.
When it is necessary that a student be absent, the parents are required to call the school by 10:00 a.m. The school number is 289-2932. Parents who do not call the school may be notified by phone call or post card of their child’s absence. Students returning to school after an absence must report to the office to acquire a signature in their agenda. Excused absences will be granted only upon verification of absence by a signed and dated note from the parent or a phone call to the office the day of the absence. An absence for reasons other than those provided for by law (O.R.C. 3341.04) would be considered an unexcused absence. Students have one (1) school day to have an unexcused slip changed to an excused absence. Vacation days during the school year must be preapproved by the office one week prior to the scheduled vacation.
ATTENDANCE - ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE
Time reference for students arriving late and /or leaving school early with regard to absence will be as follows:
Arrive at school after 7:35/Before 9:00..................................…..Tardy
Arrive at school after 9:00............................................................1/2 day absent
Leave school before 9:00.............................................................1 day absent
Leave school after 9:00................................................................1/2 day absent
Leave/Arrive during same day and totals more than 2 hours…..1/2 day absent
ABSENCE AND EXTRACURRICULAR ACTIVITIES
Absence from school (arriving after 9:00) excludes that student from attendance at or participation in all school activities for that day, including all practices. The principal may permit attendance or participation if approved prior to the absence.
If you are absent from school, it is your responsibility to contact each of your classroom teachers concerning work that you have missed due to your absence. Students with an excused pass will be given one day for every day of absence to make up their work. Work assigned for an unexcused absence must be made up the next day.
Students arriving at school after 7:35 a.m. but before 9:00 a.m. will be considered tardy. Punctuality in arriving to school is of paramount importance in achieving academic success. Chronic tardiness limits these opportunities and is a disruption source to the educational atmosphere that we are striving to maintain. After being tardy two (2) times within one semester, a letter may be sent to your parent/guardian informing them of the fact. After being tardy three (3) times within one semester, you may lose your elementary bus riding privileges. After being tardy four (4) times within one semester, you may be issued a detention. After being tardy five (5) times within one semester, the school administration may file charges against your parent/guardian with the County Prosecutor’s Office.